Day 23: WHERE DID THE DAY GO?!

It feels weird to be at a standstill and in a point where I’m between night and day.

I don’t know if I should sleep or if I should wake up.

I feel like I must wake up since the sun is saying good morning to me again- twice for the last 24 hours. I’m supposed to see the moon, but I wouldn’t be able to for the next 12 hours.

Obviously, I’m having the traveler’s disease: a jetlag.

I’ve been sitting at the same seat for the last 7 hours and I’m (REALLY) bored. I brought 3 books, bought 2 magazines at the airport and bought an iPod a week ago, which I thought would help me with my boredom during the trip. So far, it has helped a bit.  I have another 7 or 6 hours to go before I finally touch ground and I keep telling myself, “We will get there, we will, chill.”

 Image

[We were above Canada on the way. I was starting to get REALLY BORED].

Despite the lack of sleep and the darkening circles underneath my eyes, I feel quite content that my mother and I are in a better airline than what she has previously experienced in her travels. She, who has traveled more than twice for the past year, believes that Korean Airlines, is far better than Delta. I feel satisfied knowing that she and I are enjoying a three-sitter section with no one occupying the third seat.

Most of all, I honestly appreciate the small things while I’m sitting at this airplane:

1. The non-Asians (white people)

They remind me that I am not the only one who can’t understand Korean. I feel happy that with their presence, the airline crew made a huge effort to translate everything in English (even though it can be hard to understand at times).

2. The smiling crew

– Despite my exhaustion, the stewardess who smiles even though deep down, she’s bored (as hell) sitting at the same corner, waiting to be either called or served, makes me feel less tired. They don’t have the luxury to seat in front of a T.V. unlike me.

3. The not-so-inexpensive technology is your bestfriend.

– The hands-free headseat that miraculously connects to the T.V. right in front of me, is so convenient that it doesn’t add to the clutter that my mom and I brought with us (hand-carry can be as worse as carrying a luggage, especially when you’ve got 4 handbags).

4. The little things are unforgettable

– The disposable slippers, toothbrush, pillow, blanket, warm face towel, and toothpaste that they provide us (without asking for them) made me extra comfortable. I was wearing my boots earlier and having to slip my feet into slippers personally made me feel as if I’m in business class but I’m not. Korean airlines really rock!

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I’ve been meaning to watch this movie for quite some time now and I’ve had a few chances where I could have seen it, but ever since I found it in airplane’s T.V. set, I was so happy! It was the best time-killer. Additionally, it was a tear-jerker! (I might want to elaborate more about this film next time).

6. Edith Piaf sang to me, “La Vie En Rose”

Watching The Perks of Being a Wallflower and hearing Edit Piaf before I land to my home country made my spirit stronger. It’s been 8 years since I had such a long trip like this and I have changed since…

7. The Korean-barbie-looking flight attendants

When I first saw the Korean flight attendants, they walked with so much grace, their uniforms were a mix of modern-retro 60s haute couture that made me think that they were models instead of being flight attendants. Looking at them reminded me of Gwyneth Paltrow’s “View from the top.” It made me want to be a stewardess. However, I think to be a Korean airline flight attendant, the requirements involve: being tall, slender, very pretty and you need to smile A LOT.

8. You’re not riding a roller coaster ride.

As soon as we were about to take off and land, I was expecting that gut-feeling of having my insides pulled back by my seat. I was waiting for the adrenaline rush. However, to my surprise, the pilot was highly excellent in taking off and in landing. We landed and took off slowly, yet very gracefully. I think to take off or to land a plane gracefully, without having the passengers hold on to dear life, defines a really great pilot.

Image

[It’s Tuesday here and it’s already sunset. WTF I didn’t even enjoy Tuesday here?!]

I feel a tad dizzy and a bit uneasy because of the trip and of changing through multiple time zones. I left America and it was Monday morning and I arrived in Asia and it’s already Tuesday. Where did the day go? It really is crazy! I look at the map and see the light shift. It’s night time back in Virginia and I’m approaching noontime here in Asia. I wonder what Ricky is doing right now. I realize that I am more than 3000 miles away from him. It’s scary, but I snapped out of it.

I know I will be back. I know I will, so there is nothing to worry about.

Pretty soon, I’ll be able to find myself in Ricky’s arms once again!

2 thoughts on “Day 23: WHERE DID THE DAY GO?!

    • I read the book around… I think 7 years ago and I loved it so much! It was a long time ago, but I can still remember that part of feeling “Infinite.” The movie was awesome too, it made me cry.

Leave a Reply

