Day 16: Crafting to-do list!

Image

[Image taken]

From my previous post, I told myself that I am going to attend an event created by a local crafting groupie that I found through Meetup.com. The previous night, Ricky challenged me to attend that event. I usually back-out of the meetup events at the last minute, but last night was different.

I was so brave that I felt like celebrating!

I will honestly say that I felt intimidated because I was sitting with experienced (PRO!)  potters, jewelers, fiber artists and paper crafters who have been crafting for YEARS. I was the youngest, unmarried crafter who can either be their daughter or their granddaughter. I felt like my crafting ability was insufficient compared to all of them. However, they made me feel welcomed despite the fact that I’m only a beginner. They handed out their business cards (which I did not possess!) and it made me a lot more inspired to make my own.

The discussion on “Craft Show Entry Process Information” took about two hours and it wasn’t boring! I was unaware that time went by so fast! I was taking a lot of information and I was so grateful to be given with a green folder full of what I would expect and need to do when I sign up for a craft show.

Image

[Image taken]

Based on the craft show information I’ve attended, here are a few things I need to do:

1. Stock up! 

Right now, I have about 30 pairs of earrings, 3 bracelets and 1 necklace that I’ve done. Obviously, I need a lot to showcase. The worse thing to have is less products to show. More is better!

2. Make a logo and a tagline. 

It’s important to have a logo and a tagline. I think those are two things that will be the official trademark for my own “brand.” I’ve made a logo and now I need a tagline. Soon enough, hopefully, I come up with one.

3. Price your items.

This is by far the hardest part. I suck in Math (even though I’m Asian! hah!). According to them, I have to set a price based on how much time and materials I’ve put and to research on different prices. I thought I’d sell my pair of earrings for $5.00 each, but some of those earrings have materials that are way pricey than the other ones. Oh well, Etsy holds the answer usually.

4. Edit my “blog.”

Of course, I have a separate blog for my accessory line and I feel that it’s outdated and boring. I’m still trying to figure out if I’m sticking with pink and white or just white. Hahaha… this is crazy. 

5. Edit pictures of finished products.

I hate photography because I suck at it. I don’t know how to take a picture of my items without that blue-hue on it. I use an SLR and according to a girl from that crafting group, I have to take it on a cloudy day (I thought it would produce a bad lighting because there’s no light). I have to set my camera to a white light setting (something like that) and then take a picture of a white background then my item. I don’t know if that works, but it might be. If you’re a photographer, I need your insight on this! 😀

6. Revive my Etsy account.

I have an Etsy account but it’s currently dead with no products. I plan to make it active and advertise it! But first, I have to do numbers 1, 3, 5.

7. Revive my Facebook page.

I created a Facebook page for my accessories and it hasn’t been touched since I created it. Hopefully, once Etsy is finally “prettified,” then FB is ready to go!

8. Create a business card.

I need this, desperately, but I’m taking my time in creating a business card that will make a lasting statement. After numbers 1 through 7 are done, then I’m definitely going to VistaPrint and buying a set!

9. Spread the word.

Last but not the least, all my readers here (YES YOU!) will be informed here! If you’re on my mailing list, you might even get a discount! (Bam!) 😀

10. Network.

Oh you know… I think it’ll be good to make a few sites like: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, etc. (Even though I will despise it!) It’s good to spread the word around! 😀

So yeah, we’ll see how things go. I’m so glad I came to that crafting event! I’m so excited to create MORE STUFF! 😀

2 thoughts on “Day 16: Crafting to-do list!

  1. You MUST post a photo or two, or give me the link to your other blog. I want to see your work!!! (*coughnecklacescough* I don’t have my ears pierced xD) And good for you for going to that meet-up. That is so cool! Seems like you learned a lot and had a good time. w00t!! 😀 😀 That site looks awesome, I’m going to check it out and see if I can find a group that I’m interested in.

    OMG I know how you feel about pricing! It is soooooo hard to price your own work. I face the same challenge in photography. Even though jewelry and photography are two different art forms, I’d imagine they follow roughly the same ideas for pricing. Don’t undervalue yourself or else others will see you that way. Price for the materials AND the labor (in my case the actual photos + the editing process). And keep tweaking it.

    As for the photography part, I’m not sure what the lady means by taking a photo of a white wall… maybe she meant expose for the white wall. lol not sure so I don’t think I can help you so much there. What kind of camera do you have? I could probably help you with the settings if you needed, or give you some tips. And omg I had so so so much fun making my business card in photoshop. I would suggest http://www.moo.com because I’ve heard some really good reviews on them but my VistaPrint cards do get the job done and I think they’re cheaper. So yeah. (:

    That’s a long comment. Wow. Can’t wait to see more though! Seriously! 😀

    • OMG … I accidentally deleted the [long] reply that I was about to send you (that makes me go adfgafss9a0df8!). Anyways, where was I… err. Yeah, um… I think I’m going to make necklaces next time since I haven’t made a lot. I went crazy over creating a lot of earrings because it was so easy. I have a few necklace ideas and I’m hoping that they might turn out great next time! As for the other blog, I am thinking of making a post about that but it’s not yet ready 😦 Hahaha! I think as soon as I’ve posted the new pieces in that blog, then I’ll make a post about it in here! As for the photography, I think I might have gotten a few good pictures but I’m still in the process of learning. I’m using an Olympus E620 and it’s a little complicated but I found that messing with it and playing it helped me. And finally with the business cards, I think I’m going to use your idea: use a photo editor to create my own and upload it in Vista Print. I have a design in my head and hopefully, it comes out the way I imagine it to be!!!! Heather, thank you so much for reading my posts and I love reading your long comments!!!! Hopefully I get to show the pieces I made pretty soon! For now, we wait 😀

Leave a Reply

