Day 9: So… what’s next?

The re-occuring question that’s been sitting in my head for a few months now.

One would ask,

Didn’t you just get your Practical Nurse license? When and where are you planning to work at? What’s next?

I hate that question honestly. Not because of the person asking me that, but because it irritates me that I don’t have an answer. You’d be surprised, but I really don’t.

I hate to broadcast to the world and to strangers that I have problems, but sometimes, I feel like releasing it out of my chest feels a whole lot better than caging myself in. However, don’t judge me, that’s all I’m asking.

I cannot work yet as a nurse since I’m waiting for my “green” card to come out to allow me to work. Just before you jump from your seat and call Immigration, I am legally staying here, but I cannot work, since I’m on student visa. I’m waiting for the green card that my parents petitioned me to have and it’s been killing me. Really, it has.

Imagine having to be in my position: I cannot work legally and I do not want to risk myself working “under the table.” I help out my mom with her work without gaining any monetary gain other than she letting me stay in her roof for free. I’d like to work and be independent but the green card is holding me down. But really, once it gets out (hopefully!), I will immediately step out into the working force.

However, in the meantime… I’m only polishing my nursing license and diploma (not really…). I decided to continue studying for nursing: applying for Registered Nurse then transfer to a two-year university to gain my Bachelor’s. To gain more experience in the health field, I decided to volunteer at a local hospital. Hopefully, that will make me busy.

Well… to be honest, I would really like to be busy.

Maybe I should devote the majority of my time crafting and selling it online.

Oh.. I don’t know.

Ugh. My life feels like it’s on a standstill and I cannot move. This is probably one of the reasons why I’m very depressed right now.

Sigh.

10 thoughts on “Day 9: So… what’s next?

  1. hahaha I’m sorry for being one of those people who asked you that question!! I’m sure it’s got to be frustrating to be ready to work, but to have to wait! Do you have a time line on when you’ll get your green card?
    Girl I bet this is all playing out the way it’s supposed to.. The world’s not ready for you yet to get out there, and start making all the mons hahaha.
    But really.. Enjoy this time.. take advantage of it.. like you said maybe do some more upgrading.. maybe some volunteering.. and your crafts!!!!! YOUR CRAFTS!!! you’re TALENTED so talented when it comes to your jewelry and your crafting.. you’re kind of actually lucky to have a bit of down time right now to maybe focus on that.. something you’re passionate about.. Don’t you worry.. the working world is out there, waiting for you to start worrying about bills.. and hours.. and all that.. (althoguh I’m sure that stuff gets stressful enough with OUT working.)
    I would totally start up a little shop for your crafts.. maybe an etsy shop? I see those all the time and they’re SO FREAKING cute and you could totally get the attention you need to sell your stuff.. IT’S AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    🙂

    • Oh don’t worry about asking that question! It’s okay that you did because you never asked me before, but I’ve known a few who insist to know what I’ll be doing for the next few months. Volunteering and crafting is definitely in my list. However, I’ve been stuck in crafting lately because I haven’t been inspired as much…. So right now, I’m kind of bumming around but hopefully when this weekend ends, I’m going to start! 😀 Thanks for reading btw! I always look forward to your insightful comments 😀

  2. I FEEL THE SAME WAY!

    Seriously. Whenever someone asks me what I’m going to do “with that” (my major), I give them a smart-ass answer like be an astronaut or research Sasquatch. I absolutely hate being asked “what’re you going to be when you grow up?” It was fine and dandy when I was a kid, but now that it’s REAL, it is nerve wracking, because I really don’t quite know yet!

    Anyway, I wish you the best of luck and hope your green cards gets here fast!

    • Hahah I’m so glad that I’m not alone! Those questions are big and scary to me! I agree with you too: it was fine when people asked me what I wanted to do when I grow up, but now it has become the most dreadful question! It’s also probably why I usually try to avoid people I’ve known and haven’t seen in a long time. I never look forward to “catching up” since I have nothing to be proud of yet. Ugh… oh well. Yeah… I’ve been waiting for that card for almost 8 years now, it kinda bugs me that some people have it easier (like say those that got it without waiting). Oh well… Thanks for reading btw! 😀

Leave a Reply

