Day 15: The misunderstood beauty of all time

The first time I heard of Marilyn Monroe was from fashion class when I was 17 years old. We had to research and get an inspiration from the Golden Ages of Hollywood. Marilyn stood out as a sex symbol, a sensual, “loose” woman who didn’t conform to the dainty women in the 50’s and 60’s. I didn’t include her in my croquis sketch book because of her notorious behavior. I thought she was too much to handle to portray such a glamorous age.

Fast forward 5 years later,

I’m obsessed with Marilyn Monroe. Not because she proudly showed off her cleavage and blew seductive kisses to the camera. Not because she coaxed every men with her daring look. Not because she was the most desirable woman in her time. Not because Lady Gaga, Madonna, Gwen Stefani, Christina Aguilera and many more celebrities admired her. No, not because of that.

But because of the fact that she was beyond the sex-symbol that Hollywood portrayed her to be. Just like any other woman in the world, she wished:

“Beneath the makeup and behind the smile I am just a girl who wishes for the world.”

She was beyond the Hollywood show-girl. She was a lonely woman who craved to be loved, to be appreciated and to be cherished. She may have had poor choices in men and had been a home wrecker (ever heard of her involvement with the Kennedy’s?), but just like any human being, she made mistakes.

When I first saw her movie, “The Seven-Year Inch,” I was expecting a husky voice and a sultry performance of Marilyn Monroe since I’ve never seen any of her films. However, when she walked bubbly into the scene with her white dress, her doe innocent eyes glimmered and her soft-spoken voice melted my heart.

The more I researched about her, I was able to filter out the Hollywood glamour and came to a conclusion that she’s a very lonely person who is very beautiful inside and out. I wished so hard that I met her and helped her get through all of it. I wished I was there to tell her,

“Hey Marilyn,

I know it’s hard but I want you to know that I’m here and I see that you’re beautiful inside and out- even when the cameras aren’t rolling. You’re misunderstood, but in my own eyes, you’re just like us, struggling to be loved and to be understood. I want you to know that you are way better than what Hollywood portrays you to be. You’re beyond the blonde bimbo. You are a masterpiece. And I’m sure there are people out there who thinks the same way.”

I want to remember Marilyn not as a seductive show-girl, but a woman who was strong enough to hold all her loneliness in even though she showed no signs of it in her performances.

Here’s the Marilyn I want to remember:

Simply beautiful.

Innocent in her own way.

Misunderstood and taken for granted.

Very strong despite how she’s dying inside.

 

What would her life be if she has lived this long?

Leave a Reply

