Day 15: Eric Chaplan… who?!

How’s your Sunday?! Mine’s quite the same… doing homework and project. UGH…

I ate lunch with my parents while classic rock was playing in the tv stream and my dad laughed at me when I asked, “Dad, do you know Eric Chaplan?” (Oh gawd, I’m so not versed with classic rock. I only remember him as a poster in Ricky’s bedroom) “Chaplan?You meant… Eric Clapton? Yeah of course! Look up Wonderful tonight.”

(Ohh… I’ve heard this song so many times before. I didn’t know Chaplan, I meant… Eric Clapton sang it!)

I’m quite embarrassed that I’m not familiar with the classic rock bands. Most guys are in love with them and probably women who were teenagers in that era. I am a 90s baby so I am definitely not familiar with the 70s or 80s culture. But oh well… there’s the internet as my DeLorean time travel machine! YEAHHHHHH!

P.S. Instead of hurling me with unforgiving questions or information about the 70s or 80s that I probably don’t know, maybe you can suggest a classical rock band with your favorite song from them. That will help me learn!

3 thoughts on “Day 15: Eric Chaplan… who?!

  1. Look up The Band, if you haven’t heard any of their music. They mixed all kinds of styles and were pretty influential on other musicians.

    Others: Dr. John, Littlefeat, the Rolling Stones, Leon Russell, Bob Dylan, Ry Cooder, Warren Zevon, Cream … if you look up some of them on youtube and follow some of the related links, you’ll find all kinds of good music.

    Explore some of the early rock and blues folks, too: Chuck Berry, Lee Dorsey, Ray Charles, Howlin’ Wolf, Mississippi Fred MacDowell, Mississippi John Hurt, Koko Tayler, Little Walter, etc.

    • Thank you soooo much for the suggestion! My aim is that by the end of the month, I will know a few songs and names that will help me carry through a 70s classic rock conversation with my dad 🙂 That way, I won’t feel quite ignorant 😉

Leave a Reply

